• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New to this forum AND Tarantulas

amberkinn

3 Year Member
I finally found myself a Chilean yesterday! ;) Or so I believe?
I am completely new to owning tarantulas, however I have been doing research on how to care for one for months -- and considering it for years...Much to my family and* boyfriend's creeped out ness, lol!
I just happened upon the Chilean in a pet store yesteday and took a chance and splurge bought it. The attendants of the pet shop swore up and down it was aggressive but when I held her (I am calling her Charlotte until I can figure out the sex during a molt) she seemed absolutely fine. Got her into my hand with a little coaxing and she didn't even take a defensive "I am going to bite or flick you" stance.
Anyway, I bought myself an exoterra and moved her into it myself much to the store attendants thanks - she was absolutely terrified! Claimed the other tarantulas were absolutely fine but this one was "aggressive" I don't believe it! Lol.
Either way, I know it's wrong to run off of pictures, but all of the chilean's I have seen are much (fuzzier?) than she is. I considered it could be that she is a baby. She also has lines up and down her appendages. But after closer inspection of other Chilean photos I did notice them somewhat under all the fuzz.
So I am asking for a little help. Attaching some photos for your consideration.

amberkinn

3 Year Member
The photos didn't attach since I am posting this with a mobile device, so I am adding them in the comments.

amberkinn

3 Year Member
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1406996036.502284.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1406996047.818883.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1406996057.136850.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1406996074.571957.jpg

^ those are photos I took with my DSLR