• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Need opinion of more experienced keeper!!!

new2tarantulas

3 Year Member
Ok so I found some really affordable slings and wanted to know peoples opinion on which ones where better. Easier to care for is the biggest thing because I have no experience with slings. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

This is the ones I am interested in:
1. Acanthoscurria geniculata (Brazilian giant white knee)
2.Aphonopelma hentzi (Texas Brown)
3. Brachypelma vagans (Mexican Red Rump)
4.Euathlus Sp. Red (dwarf Chilean flame)

Please let me know your experience with slings and the species in general. Thank You!!

Nada

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
those are all easy to care for species. The Geniculata is significantly larger than the other 3 reaching 8"+ they also tend to have quite an attitude.The Hentzi is the slowest grower of the 4, you won't see much growth in the first year. Vagans grow moderately fast and get about 5.5" they're usually pretty feisty. Th Euathulus sp Red is the smallest and most docile of the 4. they grow to 4" max, usually smaller.

BigTGirl93

3 Year Member
I have a Chaco Golden Knee sling and a Salmon Pink Birdeater sling-both are very easily to care for. The Chaco is also a great beginner T with a docile personality. And even though birdeaters can be semi aggressive, he/she is the most easiest to handle, they are speedy but they are a great show T. Mine is out 80% of the time. My Chaco is always hiding I never see him.