• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Molting complication theory

Kat Maehl

3 Year Member
Ok,
I will be the first and probably not the last to admit this but I am not a scientist by any stretch. But I am a naturalist, I know 90% of what happens in nature happens for a reason.

I got to thinking about why there are complications with T's molting.
I've never heard of them doing so in the wild, and while there may not have been a recording or I haven't heard of it, I got to wondering why.

I acknowledge that tarantulas live longer and have better success as organisms in captivity having no predators but still, why could they have complications.

My theory In captivity they lack a mix of foods that they'd find in nature, because we don't have all the food of the jungle. (Well I do, but it's hard to catch sometimes!) maybe a balanced diet is why they have this strange difficulty.

What do you guys think?

Rivmage

3 Year Member
I wanted to touch on the point of not finding a T in the wild dying from molting issues. Most small animals that died only last for a very short time as scavenger readily dissect the remains.

Coming from a reptile background, humidity plays a big part in reptiles shedding. Depending on where the species comes from, they have a constant 80 to 100+% humidity. In the captivate environment, we may peak near those levels but over the next 24 to 48 hours, the environment drops to less than 50% of the peak humidity. Even most desert species, that live in burrows or rocky hides, have surprisingly high humidity to the comparable environment reaching into the 80% range.

Scott

Tgotty90

3 Year Member