• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

H. lividum rehouse

Red devil

3 Year Member
I need to rehouse my H. lividum. She is in an enclosure that is to big. She has burrowed about 8 inches down and about 4-5 inches accross. I've read of different methods but these sources do not go into as much detail. In the Tarantula keepers guide it talk about pouring water down the burrow. Any insite? And what would I expect from her? For example if I pour water is she going to fly out and up my arm or up and away from the enclosure? This is my first time with a borrower of this sort. My others are out enough where I can block the burrow to rehouse them. Not this one tho.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

WolfSpider

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
I need to rehouse my H. lividum. She is in an enclosure that is to big. She has burrowed about 8 inches down and about 4-5 inches accross. I've read of different methods but these sources do not go into as much detail. In the Tarantula keepers guide it talk about pouring water down the burrow. Any insite? And what would I expect from her? For example if I pour water is she going to fly out and up my arm or up and away from the enclosure? This is my first time with a borrower of this sort. My others are out enough where I can block the burrow to rehouse them. Not this one tho.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.
I think your best bet would be to scoop substrate out onto a pan or sterilite container in your bathtub. When the spider comes running out, use a catch cup. Tom Moran has some interesting videos on this. He has tried it both ways--much more success without water. But, just MHO.

kormath

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member