• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Fresh Gutload or Fluker's?

Aleman732

3 Year Member
So I'm a total newb at anything tarantula or cricket. I actually haven't even gotten my tarantula yet because I want to make sure I have all the items and knowledge I'll need.
But anyway, I've heard alot of bad things about the Fluker's stuff and that a fresh gutload is better? Is it really?
What should I use for a fresh gutload? I heard Kale is simultaneously good and bad if you use too much?
If I go with a fresh gutload, do I still need to provide water or do they get all the necessary hydration from the fresh greens/veggies? If I do still need to give them water, then would using Fluker's cricket gel be fine?

Thistles

3 Year Member
I just use whatever I have left from juicing or salads. Gut load isn't bad but it's overpriced. You probably won't have to even feed crickets if you just have one tarantula. Just buy crix as needed. The gel is fine, but fruits are juicy enough.

kormath

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
I use flukers orange gel as a water/nutrient addition to the ground dog food or roach chow i feed my roaches and occassional crickets. Just make sure it doesn't have calcium in it.

Add to that carrots or other veggies - no tomatoes or potatoes or iceburg lettuce - and they'll be fine to feed to your Ts.

MatthewM1

3 Year Member
Commercial made is crap. Use fresh fruits and veggies. I use a slightly different blend each time I make up a batch of food. Variety is the key, if you are gut loading you feeders with the same food item every time you aren't offering any nutritional variety to the animals they are being fed to.

kormath

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member