• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Brachyprelma Albopilosum bad molt

Saberfal

3 Year Member
So I'm still fairly new to T. thing, and I started out with 2 slings with one being a curly hair.

At this point I'm rather sad to say I'm 98% my curly hair died today while molting. (I know this brings up a lot questions, but the environment for my Ts is great and haven't had any issues so far.)

The thing I don't really understand though is the posture this T took while trying to molt. My brachy almost never came up out of the substrate, and 2 days ago it was taking a stroll. Within a few minutes, it sat down and stuck all of it's legs straight up.

I would see it move, and attempt to move here and there. The abdomen portion broke free during the first day without issue. However now that point seems to be moot as I believe the T is deceased. I have a really crappy camera, so a picture with enough detail isn't possible. From what I can tell, the abdomen has distended quite unnaturally from the thorax, as if being pinched by the old exo. The old carapace and legs are still intact, and show no signs of breaking to allow the T. out. If it were of a larger size I may have been able to help out a little, but the sling was just to small to risk any kind of aid on my end.

So I'm wondering if anyone else has had T.s that went into molt, but just did it wrong? Mine was sitting right side up, with all legs extended upwards over its back. Just like you would see in a regular molt posture, just backwards.

My other T sling is a Rosea G. and is also about to molt. This T. also exhibits some weird behaviours going through premolt into molt too.

kormath

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member