• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

B.albo

Houjo

3 Year Member
Hello I'm new to T keeping. I recently purchased a b. albo from Jamie's Tarantulas. I'm wondering how fast my T will grow. I have been feeding it dubia twice a week.

Tomoran

3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hi, there and welcome!

Congrats on your new acquisition! Did you get a male or female? Males will grow a bit faster. What size is he/she? What temps is he/she kept at? Higher temperatures will lead to faster metabolisms and growth.

I have a B. albo I kept as a sling for about 18 months or so, and it's proven to be a pretty slow grower. It started out at about 1/3" and is now about 1.25". It eats pretty well and is kept in the 70s for the majority of the year.

I also just picked up a juvenile pair from Jamies; B. albo is a wonderful species!

Tomoran

3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
It is about 3/4" unsexed, and I keep it at about 78.

At 78, it's likely to grow faster than mine does. My temps are between 70-75 in the winter, so it cools down a bit here. Mine tend to molt more often in the warm summer months (up to 80). At those temps and feeding it twice a week, you will likely get to see your first molt sooner than later. :)

Scoolman

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Veeerrrrryyyyyy ssssssllloooooooowwwlllllly............
Mine is 4 years in and and just now 2". Started as 2i sling. I keep warmer temps and feed regularly.

Chubbs

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Brachypelma have one of the slowest growth rates of any genus. If fed more and kept at higher temperatures, they can mature somewhat faster, but even then it won't make a huge difference.

Thistles

3 Year Member