• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Are beetles any danger to tarantulas?

Allthingsterrarium

3 Year Member
This might be kind of a weird question but I'm still very new to tarantulas and I want to make sure I'm not doing anything that could result in mine getting hurt. Anyway I've started to breed darkling beetles in order to produce a lot of mealworms for a bearded dragon and some other lizards I'll be getting soon and my plan is to keep the beetles in the breeding container for about a week and a half to let them lay all the eggs they can and then retire them and offer them to my terrarium animals which I hope will include my tarantula if it's safe to do so. Here's the problem I worry about. I met this lady not too long ago and we were talking about pets and she mentioned her son had a scorpion that he fed mealworms to and they just burrowed into the substrate and then turned into beetles which in turn killed the scorpion which I found absolutely shocking since scorpions are aggressive and heavily armored not to mention a lot bigger than these little beetles. Besides, darkling beetles seem harmless and have small mandibles. If anything it must have been a really young scorpion. Now maybe she just didn't know what she was talking about and the beetles in question had nothing at all to do with the scorpions death and maybe it was a different beetle species all together that did it if in fact that was the cause which I doubt but I want to play it safe since a tarantula is certainly a much softer bodied arachnid than a scorpion. It would make an excellent treat for him so do you think that the adult form of a mealworm would pose any danger to a tarantula whatsoever? Because I'm not even going to attempt it if there's even the slightest risk.

MassExodus

1,000+ Post Club